Hergest Helly

Stories about my art and craft and home…

… and so the madness begins…

Leave a comment

I have finally succumbed to the madness of hand sewing minuscule pieces of fabric together to create one of Willyne Hammerstein’s beautiful Millefiori quilts.

This one is from her second book and I will admit up front that the prospect of sewing 1cm pieces was just too much – so I have doubled the dimensions of these templates – and this is how I started last night…

hand sewing madness

… note the wine – absolutely essential for courage at this stage.

You can just see a hint of the glorious patchwork pattern in the book – and my first bit of sewing…

I think a lot of people who make these quilts use paper templates and construct the quilt using the English paper piecing method, but I have opted to sew them without papers.  I like the softness and gentle feel of sewing running stitches… we will have to wait and see if this was a good idea or not!

To see more of the beautiful quilts in the books, google La Passacaglia Quilt (one of the most popular quilts from the first book).

Happy days…

Author: Hergest Helly

spinner, quilter, knitter, sewer, rag-rug hooker, beginning weaver, crocheter, embroiderer, chicken keeper, cat lady, budding gardener, yoga novice and home lover...

Leave a Reply

