Hergest Helly

Stories about my art and craft and home…

Dad’s needlepoint…

2 Comments

I am doing the finishing touches to the needlepoint my dad has stitched… just filling in some gaps, adding a bit of border and then stretching it to make it square(ish).

I absolutely LOVE the design and colours – by Kaffe Fassett of course 🙂

Then I shall make it into a cushion with some fancy pompom edging.  His 89th birthday is in a couple of weeks so it will be nice to finish it by then.

Finishing off...

Finishing off…

Also in this photo you can see my Indian Cow needlepoint being stretched – it was terribly off-square even though I had used a frame… I gave this one a good soak before starting to stretch it – just relieved the colours didn’t run!!!  I usually just spray the surface and tug it into shape as I pin it out – but as it was so bad I thought I should be tougher with it.  Its looking ok at the moment.

For the Indian Cow I think I will try something different to display it – possibly on some wood.  If that doesn’t work, then it will become another cushion.

Happy days…

Author: Hergest Helly

spinner, quilter, knitter, sewer, rag-rug hooker, beginning weaver, crocheter, embroiderer, chicken keeper, cat lady, budding gardener, yoga novice and home lover...

2 thoughts on “Dad’s needlepoint…

  1. When I saw the photo, before I read your post, I thought, “Kaffe Fassett.” Good for me1 And better for your dad — love the needlework.

Leave a Reply

