Hergest Helly

Stories about my art and craft and home…

And back to the garden…

Leave a comment

… not that I have been away from it of course…

My greenhouse is looking splendidly verdant – the tomatoes are growing well, especially the cherry tomatoes I have in a hanging basket.

The peppers are looking good and finally the chillies are looking less pathetic.  And of course the strawberries – absolute giants some of them and very sweet.  I am trying to propagate them already by putting the runners into pots of compost – I think thats what you are supposed to do… we’ll see…

The peas – I had my first meal tonight with my own peas – such a delight!

First pickings...

First pickings…

AND – there were 9 peas in some of the pods – which I think is “proper” (well, according to the judge on Allotment Challenge anyway 🙂 )

The sugar snap peas are doing well (and taste great) – but some of those plants are definitely “ordinary” peas – some sort of mix up I guess.

AND – cucumbers!  I bought 3 tiny plants of different varieties not realising how BIG they get.  They are looking absolutely splendid and all three plants have lots of tiny cucumbers on them.  Any idea what to do with cucumbers? – apart from adding to salads… its looking like I might get rather a lot…

Happy days…

Author: Hergest Helly

spinner, quilter, knitter, sewer, rag-rug hooker, beginning weaver, crocheter, embroiderer, chicken keeper, cat lady, budding gardener, yoga novice and home lover...

Leave a Reply

