Hergest Helly

Stories about my art and craft and home…

Bye bye Ruby…

6 Comments

Ruby, our Black Rock chickie, died last night.  She was getting on a bit, no eggs since the year before last and she had been slowing down over the last couple of days so I popped her in the “sick room” aka the rabbit hutch and run we keep for isolating any hen that looks a bit peaky.

I hand fed her some grapes yesterday and she ate a few but she was not very interested and I knew what was going to happen.  I planned to take her to the vet this morning to have her put to sleep but she beat me to it…

Intrepid Ruby in January 2013

Intrepid Ruby in January 2013

Thanks for all the lovely eggs and the company Ruby…

Sad…

Author: Hergest Helly

spinner, quilter, knitter, sewer, rag-rug hooker, beginning weaver, crocheter, embroiderer, chicken keeper, cat lady, budding gardener, yoga novice and home lover...

6 thoughts on “Bye bye Ruby…

  1. Condolences. May you find comfort in good memories.

  2. I’m sorry, Helen. Out of curiosity, what do you do with the remains?

    • Hi Nann, thanks. As for the remains, it is a little undignified. I wrapped Ruby in newspaper, put her in a couple of plastic bags and popped her in the refuse bin. There seems to be some confusion as to what you are supposed to do. I had been told and read on the Dept of Environment web site that you shouldn’t bury them or cremate unless using approved “industrial scale” facilities – so no advice for pet chicken owners. I spoke to the vet a couple of years ago and was told not to bury them, but when I spoke to them yesterday they said it was ok to bury them… The main reason for not burying is that they can easily be dug up by dogs/foxes etc. In the past I have had my chickens put to sleep by the vet and they “disposed” of them. More information I guess than you asked for Nann 🙂 Hugs, Helly

  3. How sad. I once sat, weeping, with a chicken on my lap in Italy.

Leave a Reply

