Hergest Helly

Stories about my art and craft and home…

Growing ginger…

Leave a comment

Just look at this…

Growing slowly...

Growing slowly…

My sister Angie gave me this little beauty for Christmas – she had noticed a little bud on a root of ginger and decided to plant it.  It started to shoot and she gave it to me (to see if I could keep it alive haha!)  Anyway – as you can see, even after nearly 3 months – it is doing remarkably well… AND there is one new shoot and the promise of a couple more…  Isn’t this fun?

To give you an idea of the scale, the pot is 3″ across and the piece of ginger root is just 2″.

I wonder what it will look like once leaves begin to form (if I can keep it alive that long!)  Its currently on my bathroom windowsill where it gets some morning sun and its above the heated towel rail so its quite warm.  I am hardly watering – just a drop of water by the growing bud – the rest is dry and sandy…  obviously I have NO idea whether this is correct treatment but so far so good – time will tell…

Happy days…

Author: Hergest Helly

spinner, quilter, knitter, sewer, rag-rug hooker, beginning weaver, crocheter, embroiderer, chicken keeper, cat lady, budding gardener, yoga novice and home lover...

Leave a Reply

