Hergest Helly

Stories about my art and craft and home…

Happy New Year… and a happy new(ish) quilt…

Leave a comment

At the end of last year an old friend contacted me about buying a quilt for her sofa bed for their place in the French Alps.

After reading her email, I looked up and saw the unfinished quilt top I started a year or so ago.  I had ran out of steam when it came to finishing it.  It turned out to be the right size and my friend loved it… I am so happy to have a good reason to finish it!

Pinning the quilt layers...

Pinning the quilt layers…

Here it is a couple of days ago spread out on the floor for me to pin the layers together.  This is quite a big quilt – around 100″ square(ish)… so we had to move a lot of furniture out of the way and hoover up where the chairs, speakers, rugs and sofa had been!  (I don’t think the floor has ever been so clean!)  Now I am quilting it – and its a joy – its all going really well…

Quilting...

Quilting…

This must be the start of a jolly creative year 🙂

Happy days…

Author: Hergest Helly

spinner, quilter, knitter, sewer, rag-rug hooker, beginning weaver, crocheter, embroiderer, chicken keeper, cat lady, budding gardener, yoga novice and home lover...

Leave a Reply

