Hergest Helly

Stories about my art and craft and home…

Needlepoint progress…

Leave a comment

Not much happening on the quilting front at the moment because I have rediscovered my unfinished needlepoint…

Indian Cow

Indian Cow

… and I am thoroughly enjoying myself.  This is a lovely design by Isobel Hunt.  I think her work is really delicate. The design is simply drawn onto the canvas and you follow directions for the colours you use and refer to a full sized colour photo where you can easily see the individual stitches.  Many of the areas require you to blend 2 strands of thread which is how you get such a smashing shaded effect – I just love this.  AND the kits come in a velvet bag which converts to a zippered backing for the cushion – isn’t that a clever idea?

I have done a few needlepoints over the years but only one was on a colour printed canvas – and I found that really difficult to follow… I couldn’t easily see where one colour finished and another colour started and the result was a bit disappointing – and the kit didn’t include a chart.  All my other “tapestries” have been done from charts so I can see clearly where each colour goes.

Elizabeth Bradley designs include a full colour chart along side the colour printed canvas so you can see exactly where to stitch – I really like those designs and I have completed 2 of hers. They are worked in cross stitch and not tent/half cross stitch, which means the canvas doesn’t distort.  I was planning on making all four of her Victorian Flowers designs and then making them into a rug… I did start the third design (Winter Wreath) and the chart for the fourth in the series (Spring Basket) is in her book… but it all seems a bit daunting now…

I think the latest batch of Isobel Hunt’s needlepoints have colour printed canvas which is a bit disappointing for me. However, these new kits do include a symbol chart so I am hoping Santa will bring me the really pretty Tibetan Donkey kit for Christmas.  If I think the colour printing will get in the way, I can always turn it over and stitch on the back directly from the chart instead 🙂

In the meantime I had better get on and finish the Indian Cow… and then get started on the really lovely Egyptian Camel design which is sitting here patiently awaiting its turn….

Happy days…

Author: Hergest Helly

spinner, quilter, knitter, sewer, rag-rug hooker, beginning weaver, crocheter, embroiderer, chicken keeper, cat lady, budding gardener, yoga novice and home lover...

Leave a Reply

