Hergest Helly

Stories about my art and craft and home…

Sunshine quilt in progress…

4 Comments

Such a lovely project to work on – the colours make me really happy.  All the arcs have been pieced and all the outside bits sewn on.  Some of the centre quarter circles have been sewn in place, and others are being auditioned.

I think this is how I want to lay it out – but not in this colour arrangement – I have just popped them up on the wall to see how its going…

Sunshine quilt in progress...

Sunshine quilt in progress…

… I need to work at balancing the colours and and getting the light and dark flowing nicely round the quilt – I love this part of the process!

One of things I don’t like much is the boring bit right in the middle – I think it needs another, smaller sun-burst added and I have a foundation pattern that I think will work.

The foundations are from the book “Really Sharp Piecing” by Barbara Barber.  I bought the book from the author at the National Patchwork Championships in (I think) 1997 – a lovely lady who signed it for me with the words “To Helen, Wishing you many happy quilts!” – thank you Barbara – it all came true 🙂

Happy days…

 

 

Author: Hergest Helly

spinner, quilter, knitter, sewer, rag-rug hooker, beginning weaver, crocheter, embroiderer, chicken keeper, cat lady, budding gardener, yoga novice and home lover...

4 thoughts on “Sunshine quilt in progress…

  1. Beautiful, Hels – I adore the colours.

  2. You are so talented in design and colour. This is lovely.

Leave a Reply

