Hergest Helly

Stories about my art and craft and home…

Restarting an old quilting project…

3 Comments

As I am now hand sewing down the binding of my spinning wheels quilt, I decided it was time to start another project – and a much brighter and jollier one too…

… and not a moment too soon!  I started these blocks over 10 years ago and made one of the blocks into a cushion.   The remaining blocks have been languishing in a muddle somewhere in my fabric stash.  I think there may be some more bits of this quilt hidden away somewhere but I can’t find them…

Sun Rise...

Sun Rise…

… the newest additions are the odd segments pinned to the board.  They are paper pieced and I am having a lot of fun with the colours.

I had forgotten what a mess you get into when cutting tiny bits from loads of different pieces of fabric – the sewing table and floor is covered… and I am in heaven 🙂

Happy days…

Author: Hergest Helly

spinner, quilter, knitter, sewer, rag-rug hooker, beginning weaver, crocheter, embroiderer, chicken keeper, cat lady, budding gardener, yoga novice and home lover...

3 thoughts on “Restarting an old quilting project…

  1. It looks like fun. I haven’t done paper piecing (and don’t have a lot of interest in it) but there are some projects that can be done best with it. Yours will be spectacular.

    • Thank you Melanie – I really am having fun with this! Actually, I think I have the terminology a bit wrong – this is foundation pieced – not paper pieced like hexagons etc… Cheers, Helen

  2. I really love the results that can be achieved with foundation piecing although I don’t enjoy doing it.

Leave a Reply

