Hergest Helly

Stories about my art and craft and home…

28 Spinning Blocks…

1 Comment

Here they are…

All done...

All done…

… all 28 of them, just quickly put together on my design boards – I will play with the arrangement over the next few days.

You can see that I have started to appliqué the middles.  I chose a dark gold colour with tiny dots that look a bit like coffee beans… it took ages to decide what to use for the middles but I am really happy with these.

I do have a slight problem – the holes in the middle of the blocks don’t seem to be a consistent size (I am not the most accurate sewer!).  I am making the diameters of the circles 40mm but sometimes that is really tight.  I have already had to add just one middle that is a bit bigger than that – 3rd one down on the far right – I don’t think it shows too much…

This middle is a bit bigger than the others...

This middle is a bit bigger than the others…

I wanted to keep the middles quite small because I think they look better – anyway – decision made!

Now all I have to do is create the middles and sew them down… 6 down, 22 to go…

Can hardly wait to see this one completed and up on the wall.  It is such a departure colour-wise for me but I really like it.

Happy days…

Author: Hergest Helly

spinner, quilter, knitter, sewer, rag-rug hooker, beginning weaver, crocheter, embroiderer, chicken keeper, cat lady, budding gardener, yoga novice and home lover...

One thought on “28 Spinning Blocks…

  1. Pingback: Restarting an old quilting project… | Hergest Helly

Leave a Reply

