Hergest Helly

Stories about my art and craft and home…

What a difference a day makes…

Leave a comment

So much better now…

spinning 16 blocks

… I am really in the swing of it now and much happier with the colours and combinations.

The quilt will have 28 blocks – 7×4 – as that is the size that will fit on the wall – and it will end up around 60″x 34″.

I have another 5 or 6 blocks planned and under the sewing machine.  The fabrics for the last few blocks will be difficult to select as I am running out of these sorts of “off” colours and so I may need to duplicate a couple of fabrics.  You see, I haven’t bought any fabric specifically for a quilt project for many years – you may recognise how dated some of these fabrics are!  I don’t mind that as my favourite thing is to revisit all the bits and pieces in my stash and use them up (but the pile never seems to diminish 🙂 ).

I really like to use fabrics that have become old and familiar to me – there is something comforting and happy about doing that.

Happy days…

Author: Hergest Helly

spinner, quilter, knitter, sewer, rag-rug hooker, beginning weaver, crocheter, embroiderer, chicken keeper, cat lady, budding gardener, yoga novice and home lover...

Leave a Reply

