Hergest Helly

Stories about my art and craft and home…

More spinning blocks…

Leave a comment

Some progress…

Spinning blocks...

Spinning blocks…

… but I am really not at all sure about these colours.  They are certainly not my usual colour combinations.  Mostly I am pretty confident about colours but this time I feel these are rather dull and I don’t even know whether I even like them much.  I think the third one down on the left is going into the bin – it is so wrong…

That might be why this is going slowly.

I made the templates for these blocks myself and I wonder if my angle is slightly wrong as they are not laying completely flat… either that, or my cutting and sewing is rubbish!  Maybe that is another reason I am less happy with this quilt so far.

From experience, I know its a good idea to keep going… adding more blocks and rearranging them can work wonders… and of course the appliquéd centres and bit of judicious quilting might transform it all.

So, after due consideration (haha) I think I will plod on for a while and see what happens… do you carry on regardless at this stage?  Or do you cut and run and start something else instead…. ?

Happy days…

Author: Hergest Helly

spinner, quilter, knitter, sewer, rag-rug hooker, beginning weaver, crocheter, embroiderer, chicken keeper, cat lady, budding gardener, yoga novice and home lover...

Leave a Reply

