Hergest Helly

Stories about my art and craft and home…

Our four girlies…

4 Comments

Here they are…

My four girlies...

Our four girlies…

Ruby, at the front, is a Black Rock and she lays huge brown eggs almost every day.

Lily, in the middle, is a Cream Legbar and lays beautiful blue eggs.

Phoebe, the black and white one at the back, is an Exchequer Leghorn and lays perfect white eggs.

And Nellie – a Gold Laced Wyandott – lays pretty pale brown eggs (when she isn’t being broody!)

They have a nice run…

chicken run

The chicken run…

… all the way round the pond – and a great view up the ridge.  There are more trees on the right where they have lots of shade and places for dust bathing.  There are usually sheep in the field just beyond the run and its funny to watch the lambs being curious…

We used to let them free-range all over the garden and I loved having them all around me, but this year I am starting to grow more flowers and veggies and I know just how destructive the darlings can be and so we created a run.   They seem very happy and love the stuff growing in and around the pond.  And they don’t miss out – I share out the raspberries and pull up the dandelions for them…

Happy days…

Author: Hergest Helly

spinner, quilter, knitter, sewer, rag-rug hooker, beginning weaver, crocheter, embroiderer, chicken keeper, cat lady, budding gardener, yoga novice and home lover...

4 thoughts on “Our four girlies…

  1. They’re beautiful. I love watching chooks (as they’re referred to here) go about their day – they’re very entertaining.

    • I think “chooks” is a great description for them Elizabeth. I call them my chickies or my girlies…. and yes – they make me laugh too – especially when they eat each other’s food and run around chasing each other trying to retrieve their treat when there are more tasty morsels just sitting on the ground waiting for them!
      Cheers…

Leave a Reply

