Hergest Helly

Stories about my art and craft and home…

Scrappy trip is assembled…

Leave a comment

Assembled...

Assembled…

All sewn up 🙂

I found a sunny spot in which to take this photo so it looks much brighter and more like the original… but the design boards were at an odd angle – the quilt is basically pretty rectangular… honestly it is! 🙂

Now I have to sort out the borders – or maybe have no borders… decisions…

I have thoroughly enjoyed making this so far and I love the 1″ squares.  I have started one in neutral colours but I am not sure how successful it is.  I may just need to add a few more blocks before I decide whether to continue with that.  But having had fun with this bright one, I really want to make another one – maybe in a more controlled colour palette or theme.

I have bought some striped fabric for the backing and ordered some cotton batting which should arrive tomorrow – and so I will have a jolly weekend getting the top, batting and backing pinned together and ready for quilting.  My current plan is to use a variegated yellow/lime cotton thread and make big stitches diagonally… I am really looking forward to starting the stitching…

Happy days…

Author: Hergest Helly

spinner, quilter, knitter, sewer, rag-rug hooker, beginning weaver, crocheter, embroiderer, chicken keeper, cat lady, budding gardener, yoga novice and home lover...

Leave a Reply

