Hergest Helly

Stories about my art and craft and home…

How I like to organise sewing my quilt blocks…

Leave a comment

scrappy trip in progress

…ok – this may not look very organised to you… but to me it is quilt sewing heaven!

When I am making a quilt I like to have lots of different elements all ready to be worked on at the same time.  What I mean is, when I am sitting at the machine I could be sewing blocks at any and all stages of construction, from the initial strips or the first 2 pieces, right through to the final line of stitching to complete the block.

It also means at any moment I might have all sorts of bits to take to the ironing board and… best bit of all… I always have at least one completed block either in my pile for ironing or on the machine… and that is very nice and encouraging.

In the photo you can see my scrappy trip around the world bits and pieces in progress – blocks in all stages of construction.  I love working like this – even though it seems so haphazard – its a very happy way of working for me.

Cheers…

Author: Hergest Helly

spinner, quilter, knitter, sewer, rag-rug hooker, beginning weaver, crocheter, embroiderer, chicken keeper, cat lady, budding gardener, yoga novice and home lover...

Leave a Reply

