Hergest Helly

Stories about my art and craft and home…

Blocks finished…

Leave a comment

All the blocks finished...

All the blocks finished…

All the blocks are finished – sorry the photo is a bit dull, I must sort out a good place for taking photos.  I have played around a bit with the arrangement and it is already a bit different to this picture – I could tiddle around for ages as I am trying to avoid having blocks close together that contain the same fabric (that isn’t too hard as most are used only once) and trying to balance the light and dark and make sure the striped squares are dotted around fairly evenly as they tend to pop out.

I have decided where it is going to hang and so I now know its final size (approximately anyway).  So far, without borders, this will measure 60″ x 36″ when its assembled.  I think I will be doing a scrappy 3″ border all round which will make the final size 66″ x 42″.

Taking advice from my brilliant online quilting friends, I think I will quilt this by hand, using big stitches and maybe using a pearl cotton thread.  On the other hand I may get impatient to finish it and just pop it under the machine 🙂  We will see….

So – today I will be playing some more with the arrangement and hopefully start assembling the blocks.  I think that is going to be a challenge as the blocks look a bit wonky to me 🙂

Happy days…

Author: Hergest Helly

spinner, quilter, knitter, sewer, rag-rug hooker, beginning weaver, crocheter, embroiderer, chicken keeper, cat lady, budding gardener, yoga novice and home lover...

Leave a comment